California Golf Hall Of Fame Welcomes Tour Pro Kevin Sutherland

The California Golf Writers & Broadcasters Association has selected the honorees for its 2018 California Golf Hall of Fame celebration, this year hosted by Haggin Oaks Golf Course in Sacramento on Tuesday, October 23, 2018.

Heading the list for the 58th CGWBA event is highly successful PGA and Champions Tour professional Kevin Sutherland, who will be inducted into the California Golf Hall of Fame.

A native of Sacramento, Sutherland, 54, was a junior and collegiate champion before beginning his pro career in 1987. Winner of the 2002 World Match Play Championship on the PGA TOUR, and 2017 Charles Schwab Cup Championship on the PGA TOUR Champions, Sutherland has earned close to $22 million in his career and this year is among the leading Champions circuit players.

Also, being honored by the California golf writers and broadcasters:

Angie Dixon, Golden State Award: Executive Director of The First Tee of Greater Sacramento, she was an accomplished junior and collegiate golfer who has served as teaching professional and mentor for boys and girls in The First Tee since 2001.

Fred Biletnikoff, Ambassador of Golf Award: The Oakland Raiders Hall of Fame wide receiver has lent his celebrity to golf to support charity organizations for decades, as well as hosting the highly successful Fred Biletnikoff Hall of Fame Invitational the past 12 years.

Frank LaRosa, Media Service Award: A popular Northern California radio and television personality, as well as golf writer, he has chronicled the game and industry across multiple platforms for the past 30 years, also serving the game in a variety of media-related roles.

The 2018 California Golf Hall of Fame festivities begin with a friendly golf outing on the Alister MacKenzie Course, starting at noon. Social hour starts at 5 p.m., with dinner at 6 p.m., followed by awards presentations at MacKenzie’s Bar & Grille – where the new CGWBA California Golf Hall of Fame display will be unveiled.

Golf and dinner are $100 per person; dinner only is $60 per person.

2018 Registration Form

For more details and to RSVP, contact:

Frank LaRosa at

Mitch Juricich at

Leave a Reply